Center For Islamic And Arabic Studies

Faculty

CORE FACULTY

Farid Abdel-Nour, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Political Science
Phone: (619) 594-6598
Email: abdelnou@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: NH 110
Homepage: Farid Abdel-Nour
Areas of Specialization: Modern and contemporary political though in the West and in the Arab world; Israeli-Palestinian relations.

*********************************

Mounah Abdel Samad, Ph.D.
Professor, Public Administration
Email: msamad@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: PSFA 157
Areas of Specialization: Comparative Public Administration, legislators, water scarcity, and Administrative Theory

*********************************

Huma Ahmed-Ghosh, Ph.D.
Professor, Women's Studies
Phone: (619) 594-3046
Email: ghosh@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: AL 315
Homepage: Huma Ahmed-Ghosh
Areas of Specialization: Islam and Feminism; coping stratigies of immigrant Muslim women in Southern California; gendered violence in conflict zones; status of women in Afghanistan.

*********************************

Hisham Foad, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Economics
Undergraduate Advisor, CIAS
Phone: (619) 594-8495
Email: hfoad@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: NH 311
Homepage: Hisham Foad
Areas of Specialization: International finance; the economics of currency unions; economic integration and foreign investment in the Middle East and North Africa.

*********************************

Roberto D. Hernández, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Chicana and Chicano Studies
Phone: (619) 594-4219
Email: rhernandez@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: AL 388
Areas of Specialization: Comparative border studies, decolonial theory, social movements, cultural production, violence, urban studies, relational race/ethnicity studies.

*********************************

Ahmet Kuru, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science
Director, CIAS
Phone: (619) 594-8643
Email: akuru@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: NH 125
Homepage: Ahmet Kuru
Areas of Specialization:  Religion and politics; Middle East politics.

*********************************

Khaleel Mohammed, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Religious Studies
Phone: (619) 594-3108
Email: khaleel@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: AL 674
Areas of Specialization: Exegesis; hadith; Islamic law; Christian-Jewish-Muslim encounters; extremist movements.


ASSOCIATED FACULTY

 

Anne Donadey, Ph.D.
Professor, European Studies
Phone: (619) 594-0815
Email: adonadey@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: SH 224E
Homepage: Anne Donadey

*********************************

 

Youniss el Cheddadi
Lecturer, Department of Linguistics and Oriental Languages
Office: EBA 418A

*********************************

 

Mary Ann Lyman-Hager, Ph.D.
Professor of French and European Studies
Director, Language Acquisition Resources Center
Phone: (619) 594-5480
Email: mlymanha@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: EBA 426
Homepage: Mary Ann Lyman-Hager

*********************************

 

Farid Mahdavi, Ph.D.
Lecturer, Department of History
Phone: (619) 594-2210
Email: mahdavi@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: AL 559

*********************************

 

Samy Swayd, Ph.D.
Director of the Institute of Druze Studies
Lecturer, Department of Religious Studies
Phone: (619) 594-1880
Email: sswayd@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: AL 636

*********************************

 

Ghassan Zakaria
Lecturer, Department of Linguistics and Oriental Languages
Office: SHW 222


EMERITUS FACULTY

Ross E. Dunn, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Department of History
Professor Emeritus, CIAS
Email: dunn@mail.sdsu.edu
Areas of Specialization: African, Islamic and World History; author of the best selling book "The Adventures of Ibn Battuta, a Muslim Traveler of 14th Century," which has been translated into Italian, Turkish, and Indonesian.

*********************************

Ghada Osman, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Linguistics and Oriental Languages
Phone: (619) 594-7137
Email: gosman@mail.sdsu.edu
Office: SHW 201
Homepage: Ghada Osman
Areas of Specialization: Classical Arabic and Islam; Arabic and Islam in the United States.